Please contact E. B. Davis at writerswhokill@gmail.com for information on guest blogs and interviews. Interviews for July: (7/6) Jennifer J. Chow (7/13) Meri Allen/Shari Randall (Book 1--Ice Cream Shop Mystery), (7/20) Susan Van Kirk, (7/27) Meri Allen/Shari Randall (Book 2--Ice Cream Shop Mystery).

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

MYSTERY IN THE MIDLANDS: A Virtual Program with 10 Authors for $8

 by Paula Gail Benson

           Question: Where do you have the opportunity to spend 4 and ½ hours with award- winning mystery and suspense novelists all for the cost of a single e-book or paperback?

            Answer: Mystery in the Midlands (hosted by Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime and Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers of America), which began as a mid-summer conference in “Famously Hot” Columbia, S.C. For the third year, this is a virtual event through Crowdcast.

            Date: Saturday, July 16, 2022

            Cost: $8 (to defray event costs)

            Link to register: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/mystery-in-the-midlands-3/register

           Books will be available through our virtual bookstore, Fiction Addiction, based in Greenville, S.C. (bookseller: Jill Hendrix).

            If you are not able to attend virtually on the day of the event, by registering, you can access the recorded panels at your leisure.



Here’s the schedule and a little about the participants:

Raise the Temperatures with a Warm Welcome

10:30-10:45 am ET/9:30-9:45 am CT/8:30-8:45 pm MT/7:30-7:45 pm PT

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC


Shorts that Pack Heat

11:00-11:45 am ET/10:00-10:45 am CT/9:00-9:45 am MT/8:00-8:45 am PT

Alan Orloff, Shawn Reilly Simmons, and Joseph S. Walker

 

Alan Orloff has written more than 35 short stories and his YA novel I Play One on TV won this year’s Agatha and is nominated for an Anthony.

 

Shawn Reilly Simmons is Managing Editor at Level Best Books and has won the Agatha for her short stories and the Anthony for an anthology she edited.

 

Joseph S. Walker is the winner of the Bill Crider Award, given at the Dallas Bouchercon, and has published more than 50 short mystery stories.

 

Sizzling Keynote

12:00-12:45 pm ET/11:00-11:45 am CT/10:00-10:45 am MT/9:00-9:45 am PT

David Heska Wanbli Weiden interviewed by Hank Phillippi Ryan

 

Our keynote is David Heska Wanbli Weiden, an enrolled citizen of the Sicangu Lakota Nation, and the author of Winter Counts, which was nominated for an Edgar Award, and won the Anthony, Thriller, Lefty, Barry, Macavity, Spur, High Plains, Electa Quinney, Tillie Olsen, CrimeFest (UK) and Crime Fiction Lover (UK) Awards. He will be interviewed by the wonderful Hank Phillippi RyanUSA Today bestselling and five-time Agatha Award-winning author of 13 thrillers, and winner of 37 Emmys for investigative reporting in Boston.


Served Piping Hot: Cozies with Recipes

1:00-1:45 pm ET/12:00-12:45 pm CT/11:00-11:45 am MT/10:00-10:45 am PT

Daryl Wood Gerber, Raquel V. Reyes, and Abby L. Vandiver


Daryl Wood Gerber is the Agatha Award-winning, nationally bestselling author of The Fairy Garden Mysteries, The French Bistro Mysteries, and The Cookbook Nook Mysteries. As Avery Aames, she writes the Agatha Award-winning, nationally bestselling Cheese Shop Mysteries.

Raquel V. Reyes writes Latina protagonists. Her Cuban-American heritage, Miami, and Spanglish feature prominently in her work. Mango, Mambo, and Murder, the first in the Caribbean Kitchen Mystery series, won a Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery and was nominated for an Agatha award.

Abby L. Vandiver, also writing as Abby Collette and Cade Bentley, is a hybrid author who has penned more than thirty books and short stories. She has hit both the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestseller lists.

 

Sweltering Settings and Suspense

2:00-2:45 pm ET/1:00-1:45 pm CT/12:00-12:45 pm MT/11:00-11:45 am PT

Hallie Ephron, John Hart, and Hank Phillippi Ryan

 

New York Times bestselling author Hallie Ephron has been an Edgar Award finalist and five-time finalist for the Mary Higgins Clark Award.

 

John Hart is the author of six New York Times bestsellers and the only author in history to win the best novel Edgar Award for consecutive novels.

 

Hank Phillippi Ryan is the USA Today bestselling and five-time Agatha Award-winning author of 13 thrillers, and winner of 37 Emmys for investigative reporting in Boston.

 

Final Comments Before Cooling Off in the Pool

3:00-3:15 pm ET/2:00-2:15 pm CT/1:00-1:15 pm MT/12:00-12:15 pm PT

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC

 

So, what are you doing on Saturday, July 16, 2022? Why not join us at Mystery in the Midlands?

8 comments:

Jim Jackson said...

Sounds great, Paula. I'm sure everyone will have a terrific time and learn a bunch.

Paula Gail Benson said...

Thanks, Jim. We’re so appreciative of all the authors participating.

Molly MacRae said...

Great line up, Paula.

Margaret S. Hamilton said...

looks great!

Kait said...

Great line-up and a huge bargain!

Debra H. Goldstein said...

Going to be a fantastic program and you can't beat the price!

KM Rockwood said...

One of the very few good things to come out of the pandemic is the wonderful array of "virtual" conferences available to all of us at moderate prices!

Paula Gail Benson said...

Molly, Margaret, Kait, and Kathleen, I agree. We are absolutely delighted to have the authors we have appearing this year. They are phenomenal!

Debra, thank you for being on the organizing committee. And, yes, you can't beat the price!